Innoval Platform 2
Private area
Access to web private area

The project

EU-AL Cooperation

The European Union has signed formal regional and urban policy cooperation agreements with: Brazil, Chile, Peru, Mexico, Colombia and Argentina.
In addition, it also has supra-national agreements in this area with organizations such as:

- Central American Integration System (SICA): whose members are Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua and Panama.

- Community of Latin American and Caribbean States (CELAC): which encompasses 33 countries in Latin America and the Caribbean.

Among the EU-Latin America cooperation projects the following stand out:

AL-INVEST 1994-2018 Financing to improve the productivity and competitiveness of micro, small, and medium-sized enterprises in Latin America and fostering economic relations within the region and with the EU. Urban Development
RED Project 2010-2013 Support in the process of building Regional Innovation Strategies in Chile Regional innovation
URBELAC 2011-2017 Platform to promote exchanges between cities facing similar challenges through the exchange of knowledge, experiences, good practices and lessons learned and to conceive integrated development processes (31 cities) Urban Development
International Urban Cooperation Program (IUC) 2016-2019

Component 1 : Inter-city cooperation on sustainable urban development

Component 2 : Cooperation between cities in actions related to climate change with a focus on sustainable energy, based on the experience of the Covenant of Mayors of the EU.

Component 3: Cooperation between regions (sub-national entities) regarding innovation.

1. Urban development

2. Urban development

3. Regional innovation

INNOVACT 2017-2020

Based on the experience of the EU regional policy, it seeks to disseminate experiences and good practices, with special attention to cross-border areas:

  • Colombia-Ecuador
  • Colombia-Peru
  • Chile-Peru
  • Guatemala-Mexico
Territorial cohesion
INNOV-AL 2017-2020

Facilitate the pooling of information and lessons learned on promoting regional innovation systems, decentralized policies for innovation, competitiveness and smart specialization in Latin American countries:

  • Argentina
  • Brazil
  • Chile
  • Colombia
  • Mexico
  • Peru
Territorial cohesion


infyde ID

infyde ID







Europa The content of this website does not reflect the official opinion of the European Union. The responsibility for the information and opinions expressed on the website rests entirely with the authors. Innoval Platform 2


Avenida Zugazarte 8, 3º
48930 Bizkaia (Spain)

Tel. (+34) 944.80.40.95
Fax. (+34) 944.80.16.39


Receive all our news in your email and stay informed about all events
Subscribe and unsubscribe newsletter

Consultation, revocation of consents and cancel account